November

If my May morning is my responsibility,
So too is my November night–
                                           E.C. Lemmon, May 2009

 

Why does everyone act like November is The Worst?

I’m thinking about doing NaNoWriMo. I have a love-hate relationship with the idea which actually has nothing to do with the word-dump shitty writing vs. shut up inner critic debate that apparently went up several years ago. My dilemma is more regional. I signed up for a NaNoWriMo account several years ago, and it’s been sitting there, blank, ever since (I just reset my location from Japan to Nashville, ha).

My love-hate relationship is this: November is, at least in the south, one of the better months to experience the outdoors. If you’re going to spend extra hours bent over a laptop furiously typing, I find February and perhaps July to be the better choices. I actually did a “FebNoWriMo” on my own a few years ago and came up with 38,574 words, which is short of the 50,000 word goal, but still a pretty respectable effort.

Being a stubborn and set-in-my-ways person, and being fundamentally opposed to the timing of NaNoWriMo, you’d think there would be little doubt as to my NOT doing it this fall.

But…

(Sigh)

I’ve been reading a lot about the benefits of doing it, and thinking about how it might be good for me to build community and connect with writers as I lean in to making room in my life for writing.

Nothing makes me want to write like helping workshop the writing of others. It inspires without intimidating, by being raw and not-ready but still rich in potential.

Seasonally, this is poorly timed, but in my life right now a kick-in-the-pants is really well timed, especially as pertains to writing and pushing myself into a writing life.

 

This entry was posted in musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

